The Diocese

The Latin Patriarchate of Jerusalem was created in 1099, after the first crusade. When the Holy City fell to Saladin in 1187, the Patriarchate was moved to Acre, then to Cyprus, and finally to Rome. After more than six centuries, in 1847, Pope Pius IX restored the Latin Patriarchate in Jerusalem.

Today, the patriarchal diocese has about 70,000 faithful in four States: Israel, the Palestinian Authority, Jordan and Cyprus. It covers a mosaic of cultures, languages, religions and traditions.